The Last Airbender

My movie streak continues with another solid addition: The Last Airbender.

Now keep in mind that this one is not the animated one. It is the movie from this year with real actors. Despite there not being a single “AAA actor” by my standards, I had to see this movie. I mean, they bend air, water, fire and earth! How cool is that?

The Last Airbender is based on the famous anime Avatar (no, not James Cameron’s Avatar) and follows the story of the one Avatar that can control all four elements. The Fire Nation has started a war against the others and it is up to the Avatar to protect the balance of the world and keep the benders alive and at peace.

Although the story is rather standard and we have seen similar “one special person saves the world” The Last Airbender is still impressive in its own unique way. The special effects were very impressive and some moments were quite breath-taking I must admit and I always enjoy when that happens in movies. The Last Airbender is quite hard to rate though. Since it is the first part out of two or possible more, it does not have a proper ending, which I find slightly disappointing.

If you are into magic and sci-fi this is a movie to watch for sure. I would not bring my girlfriend or wife for it though as female viewers will most likely find this movie geeky and boring. I am very excited for the second movie and I am sure you will be as well once you see this one. Definitely worth watching. Oh yeah, the picture quality on Blu-ray is very good and crisp.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Aang is the Last Airbender and controls all four elements.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

