UFC 136: Edgar vs. Maynard III

The trilogy of Edgar vs. Maynard is about to end. And it will be the final encounter regardless of outcome according to Dana White. On paper, UFC 136 looks like the best main card in many months.

Frankie Edgar vs. Gray Maynard

The last fight was the very definition of a draw if you ask me. Edgar deserves to be called the comeback kid after that performance and Maynard surely has a lot of conditioning and pacing to do for this one. This is undoubtedly the toughest championship fight I’ve ever called and I honestly can’t see a clear winner, but for me at least, it’s leaning towards Maynard.

Jose Aldo vs. Kenny Florian

José Aldo is a freakishly talented fighter with a lot of entertainment value. He’s quick, explosive, skilled, and just flatout video game like. Double Knee KO? Yes, it’s Aldo’s work for sure and not a video game. Insane skill and I have no doubt he will eat Florian up. Florian’s only had one match at Featherweight and he didn’t impress me in it. Besides, Florian always has a bad gameplan when he fights for the championship.

Chael Sonnen vs. Brian Stann

The most entertaining person in the UFC returns. The people’s champion. The most interesting person alive. Chael Sonnen. The man to watch. He’s finally back after more than a year off from fighting due to suspensions, elevated testosterone levels, and criminal charges. He’s back and he’s fighting GI Joe Brian Stann. Mr. America, the soldier. I believe that if Chael is 100% fit he will easily grind Stann on the ground for three rounds and get the decision. However, I’ve heard that Sonnen’s exhausted and his body not used to MMA training and that might be his fall. A quick KO? Gassing out and losing on decision? Either way, I really hope that Sonnen wins.

Melvin Guillard vs. Joe Lauzon

Guillard has promised us a quick KO. He is a force to be reckoned with no doubt. I also expect him to win by TKO in the very first round.

Leonard Garcia vs. Nam Phan

The highly anticipated rematch that I am very eager to see. The first one was great and I believe this one will be as well. I expect Phan to win, though. Unless Garcia has some kind of secret weapon that he has been saving. Do you know something about that? I sure don’t.

Phenomenal card beforehand and I can’t wait to watch it. I’ve put over 400 bucks on this event. It’s tiiiime!

Also: The Return of the Most Interesting Man Alive; Chael Sonnen.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

