Day 1: E3

The first day of the biggest game event of the year is over and I am here to summarize with what I found interesting and to be worthy of time. But enough talking, let the games flow in. (HAEHAE)

Resident Evil 6

Sure, it doesn’t look anything like the classic RE games, but that’s not the point either. Resident Evil 6 continues the evolution of the series balancing it between an action shooter and horror game in the moody environment that is Raccoon City with trademark characters and zombies and throws in the much enjoyable co-op. I had a blast with Resident Evil 5 and played it like a zombie for weeks with my friend and beat it on all difficulties and I am sure that Resident Evil 6 will be fun as well with co-op. I mean, what game isn’t fun in co-op?

Tomb Raider

Lara seems to return to her roots in a bigger adventure than ever. It seems darker, more adventuress and exciting. Sure, it doesn’t look perfect, but it certainly looks like the ultimate Tomb Raider experience in many, many years and that’s enough to have me interested. The question is whether or not it can remain interesting as a singleplayer experience as those games are kind of dying for me.

Assassin’s Creed III

Finally the third official part of the AC series. This time we go to 18th century America and have epic battles in the snow and on the sea and it truly looks like a continuation of the franchise rather than just some tweaks here and there in new cities like the previous two games. Do yourself a favor and go watch the sea battle sequence and then the hunting ones as well. If that doesn’t excite you, then well, I guess this game ain’t for you.

Dead Space 3

Dead Space 3 looks to be more action orientated but that’s OK. It was always a sci-fi with a great atmosphere and now we get co-op and I am loving it. Why shouldn’t we be able to explore those horrible creatures with a friend in some nice-looking scenery and fight for survival? I know many people will call it Gears of Dead Space and that it is ridiculous to thrown in co-op and whatnot, but honestly, I like it. The first two Dead Space were great sure, but it’s time for something new and this is the way to go to get more sales and I think people will come to terms with it.

Halo 4

Halo is big. But I wasn’t going to care at all about it, until I saw the graphics and heard the sound effects that is. Halo 4 made all the other shooters such as Crysis 3 and Far Cry 3 look and sound like shit. That was an impressive feature and I just had to include the game on my list for those reasons alone. Unfortunately, I still don’t like the fact that they have the same annoying small enemies, and the same weapons, but at least they threw in a few new ones, although I hope that there’ll be even more new ones and less old ones. Most likely not buying it anyway, but it was nice to be surprised by the game and it will certainly be a huge hit regardless.

South Park: The Stick of Truth

A full RPG game where you create your own South Park avatar and emerge on an epic adventure in the SP universe made by Obsidian to fight all the evils of SP and in a mature-rated game. Finally. Could this be the first good South Park game worthy of money and time? I certainly hope so, it’s been too long. Unfortunately they didn’t give too much info but I hope that it will have online features.

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

CS:GO will be coming out this year in late August for the nice price of $15. How does that sound? Fair? Indeed. With heavy esport focus and pro team feedback I can’t help myself to be excited. It looks like I will be buying more than one game this year after all as CS:GO for $15 is too good a deal to pass up for me.

Star Wars 1313

And now to what I consider to be the crown jewel: Star Wars 1313. An mature-rated Star Wars game where you play as a Bounty Hunter in a dark corrupt world full of criminals. The game’s atmosphere and graphics were shockingly impressive (especially the falling out of the crashing space ship) and it looks like a perfect combination of a third-person action game and Uncharted. As you might know, Star Wars is by far my favorite universe and I can’t wait to sink my claws into this game and be the most ruthless and badass Bounty Hunter to ever walk the universe.

Some other games that might be worth mentioning are Medal of Honor: Warfighter, Far Cry 3, Crysis 3, and Gears of War: Judgment.

What are your thoughts on E3 day one? I am guessing most of you are waiting for Nintendo as they are announcing new info about their new console and whatnot. But I think we all can say that Microsoft’s conference was a huge disappointment and casualfest.

Star Wars 1313 was the game that impressed me the most.

;

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Day 1: E3”

  1. murrrrre Says:

    Reblogged this on Murrrrre's Blogg and commented:
    Jag är intresserad av Dead Space 3 😀 den vill jag testa 😀

  2. Alexandra Says:

    ouff! Resident Evil 6 ska jag köpa! 😀

  3. Sprinks Says:

    I completely agree that Tomb Raider and AC3 look great. I love the setting of colonial America for AC3. I’m intrigued by SW1313, but I really want more details. Unfortunately, Lucas Arts has a tendency to have great ideas, but fail in execution.

    Halo 4 is a must buy for me. I love the multi-player element of the Halo games. It’s a nice departure from other FPS games like BF3 / COD.

    I was also impressed by BEYOND and The Last of Us. For me, The Last of Us was best in show and the game that I am most looking forward to this year.

Leave a Reply

