Are there no other games out there?

I’ve been ranting on and on about how I only will buy two games this year. Guild Wars 2 was the first one, and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive has been my second one which I got for “free” thanks to an affiliation program. And since Dota 2 is a free game, that pretty much closes my wallet for video games for 2012. But does that mean that there are no other interesting titles coming out? Of course not.

Borderlands 2

This could be a great game to play with three friends during the Christmas season while it’s snowing outside and you are inside blasting the wastelands in style with your friends. If you are into shooters with a little extra depth and replay-ability this is something you might want to check out.

Sleeping Dogs

GTA in China or also known as Yakuza copy or something there in between is what you could call this game. I tried it out briefly at the UFC fan expo as Georges St-Pierre did the motion cap for the fighting moves for this game. It was like I said earlier, it felt like GTA in China and that’s a good thing. I’ve long wanted something like this and since I was an Xbox exclusive console gamer I never got to experience Yakuza and this is the shot for those people. The PC version is the superior one it seems with DX11 support and much more detail and horsepower. If you like GTA or Yakuza, check this out.

Hitman: Absolution

They promised that only a small percentage of the players will be able to beat this game on hardcore. It will go back to its roots and extend the classical beloved Hitman gameplay. Just PR talk or will they deliver? I don’t know, honestly. But if they do deliver, this game is one to look out for. I still remember when I played Hitman 2 and it was amazing. Can Absolution bring back that joy?

Assassin’s Creed III

Be an assassin in America when history was at its busiest with war and more war. Sea battles. War. Revolutions. Awesomeness. I don’t need to say anything else. This looks like it will be the best AC game by far.

Other worthy mentions: Call of Duty: Black Ops II, Halo 4, & Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition.

So there are games out there that are promising. I just won’t be picking them up as I am too busy with Dota 2 and soon to be busy with Guild Wars 2 as well. And on top of that I’ll have Battlefield 3 and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive to keep me entertained. And I don’t foresee that becoming boring in at least two to three years at earliest. I’ve always been a PC gamer, because of the value you get for the games. Comparing most consoles that last around 10-20 hours with a PC game that lasts for years and you see why I prefer the PC. Guild Wars 2 for $59.99 will give me hundreds of hundreds hours of entertainment. And I am nearing 600 hours with Dota 2 and have no desire to stop playing it. PC ❤

Which games are you buying this fall?

If Dota 2 does come out of its beta state this year, I don’t foresee any other game beating it for the Game of the Year crown.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

