Lawless

Gangsters. Crime. Drama. The 1930:s. Prohibition. Dan Hardy. I mean, if you think I didn’t rush to see this movie you are dead wrong. I hadn’t seen a single second of any trailer or read anything about it. All I had seen was the cast list, and that was enough to sell me. And boy, am I glad that I went.

Lawless takes place in a poor county in Virginia during the prohibition period in the US and follows the Bondurant brothers as they are bootleggers and yeah, it’s pretty self-explanatory. A new deputy agent in town wants to make their lives difficult, and in Franklin county the Bondurant brothers are legends and heroes. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll end it right there.

I can honestly say that no other movie in my memory has got me this attached to certain characters and provoked such strong feelings towards certain scenes and this is a movie that I will never ever forget – I am certain. It’s that good. It was a masterful journey from start to finish and I haven’t seen anything like it. By far the best western drama that I have ever seen. I will own this on Blu-ray day one and watch it again with great joy.

Keep in mind that this is a drama first and foremost – don’t expect cowboy action with horse battles and whatnot just because it has the word “western” in it. That’s not the case at all. Those going in expecting this to be an action flick with explosions and whatnot will be severely disappointed. I have a hard time foreseeing another movie clinching movie of the year from Lawless. Honestly. I liked it more than The Dark Knight Rises. It is that good. And don’t even get me started on the cast list. The actors were phenomenal and Oscar worthy in my eyes. All of them delivered beyond my expectations. This is “the must-see” movie of the year – no doubt.

Rating: 5 out of 5

An unforgettable masterpiece.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

