Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Activision are having a free weekend of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and in all honesty, I have never tried MW3 so I thought I’d give it a shot after having played Battlefield 3 as my primary FPS for a long time.

My first reaction was a tiny bit of nausea already at the menus as I really hate that color scheme of grayish dark green. Well, I decided to find a match and it went live pretty quickly. Much better than Battlelog, that’s for certain. In-game I was struck by what I feared – graphics from 2007. I mean this game is just so ridiculously ugly and lack details everywhere. Compared to Battlefield 3 this game just doesn’t stand a chance.

In terms of gameplay mechanics, it felt very primitive. There was hardly any bullet recoil and no coriolis effect on the bullets depending on wind/distance etc which made me get kills very easily and despite being underleveled in terms of guns and perks, I managed to finish second and pull off very easy kills. But it didn’t feel epic. It felt very confined and small compared to the epicness that I experienced in BF3.

I definitely won’t pick-up Black Ops II as I am certain it will feel outdated and old just like MW3 did to me. BF3 and CS:GO are both significantly prettier games with more depth and deliver an overall more enjoyable experience.

Not an impressive game experience by any means in 2012.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

