What I want from the next iPhone

I didn’t get the iPhone 5 because it missed out on several of my essential requirements. Now, I am forced to wait for the next model. So what are the things I want it to have in order to pick it up?

  • 4G support in my country. As of right now, the 5 still doesn’t have it. Unacceptable.
  • 10-hour battery via constant 4G usage and even longer through WiFi. Come on, we have smartphones but no decent batteries? Feels counterintuitive.
  • NFC payment capabilities and storage system. Passbook is decent in the U.S. perhaps, but everywhere else it sucks and has no support. Bring us NFC.
  • New camera that stabilizes much faster in terms of focus and better nighttime quality.
  • Stronger screen protection against scratches and marks.
  • Wireless charging in some variation would be nice.

That’s pretty much it in terms of hardware improvements. For the iOS 7 I’d like to see:

  • Calender in lock screen constantly displayed. (Jailbreakers did this several years ago, why can’t Apple make it? It’s insanely useful.)
  • Instagram integration sharing.
  • Significantly improved Siri + her AI, especially in my country. I want her to be able to provide facts and answers more so than just googling them.
  • Fix Apple Maps issues/problems faster.

Other than that I consider iOS to be vastly superior to any competitor and doesn’t need that much changing really.

Samsung claim that their next S4 phone will have an unbreakable screen. If that’s true, I’d expect nothing less from the next iPhone.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

