Movie of the Year: Lawless

It’s 2013 and that means that 2012 has come to an end. And you know what that means, right? It means that it’s time to announce what I considered to be the best of 2012. This year I thought I’d spread it out a little and start with crowning the movie of the year first.

Movie of the Year: Lawless

Why it won: I am old fashioned. No doubt about it. And Lawless is old fashioned as well. Moonshine days during the prohibition old. So, that’s pretty old. But there’s more than that, of course. It was beautifully written and played out. I was more emotionally attached to this flick than any other this year. The characters were great and memorable and I still run quotes from the movie in my head daily and think about it. It also was something different than what is dominating the theaters now and it was original. I like that.

Runner-up: Looper

Notice: Some major AAA-titles such as Django, Wreck-it Ralph and more are coming out in 2013 in Sweden, thus my list couldn’t include them in the 2012 awards.

Beating AAA-titles such as The Dark Knight Rises, Spider-Man, and Dredd, Lawless truly blew me away.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

