Gangster Squad

1949. Gangsters. Suits. Hats. Guns. I mean, this movie had it all on paper and add to that Ryan Gosling, it couldn’t be anything less than a masterpiece, right?

Well, let me tell you something. It was no masterpiece by any means in my eyes. But it was good. It was a good gangster flick and that’s a fair deal in my eyes.

I saw it mainly for Ryan Gosling. And it saddened me to hear that he had somewhat of a faggot voice tone in this movie. It bothered me immediately and throughout the entire flick. But then again, there was more to the movie than just him. In fact, he wasn’t even playing the lead role.

Gangster Squad offered some funny moments, some decent action shootouts old school style, classic music, nice suits and hats, and the atmosphere that I considered to be the ultimate. I wish it was like that today. But, those days are gone and it’s time to move on.

Needless to say, if you’re looking for your gangster fix, this will suffice, no doubt about it. Besides, it’s not like you have much choice as it’s currently the only gangster movie in theaters.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

A solid flick despite not living up to my hype.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

