Oz the Great and Powerful

I really had no expectations going into this movie as I never read any of the books nor had I seen the original films from decades ago. But I was expecting it to be good and boy was I blown away. Oz the Great and Powerful was nothing short of a masterpiece.

Oz the Great and Powerful stars James Franco as Oz and he delivers as always. A phenomenal actor in an extraordinary role. This movie had everything you’d expect. A beautiful fantasy land with stunning visuals and special effects along with hilarious humor and jokes flowing at a constant pace. I honestly cannot recall the last time I laughed this hard at a movie. It was just that good.

With wizards, witches and fantasy land, you’d expect some magic right? And this movie was just that. It was pure magic. Clocking in at over two hours, it felt like 20 minutes. I didn’t want it to end and once it did end I didn’t know where I was or what I was doing beforehand. This is how I define a masterpiece. I was sucked into the land of Oz like there was nothing else in the universe.

The story was great and touching, with very memorable and strong scenes that I won’t forget for a long, long time. I can’t praise this movie enough it seems. It’s one of those movies I will pick up on Blu-ray 3D and re-watch immediately. It was that fantastic.

I urge all my readers to go and see it in theaters and 3D. The 3D added a lot in my opinion and in one scene I actually titled my head away as I thought I was going to be hit by an object. Fantastic.  The best movie of 2013 without a doubt. Rare movies such as these make me proud to be a movie buff.

Rating: 5 out of 5

A masterpiece through and through. I will enjoy this movie numerous times over and over again.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Oz the Great and Powerful”

  1. CMrok93 Says:

    Some parts are really slow, the story might be just a tad predictable and some visuals looked off, but I still enjoyed the movie for what is was. Solid review.

Leave a Reply

