The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

The first two The Mummy movies hold special meaning to me. I considered the first one to be legendary and it was also the first DVD movie I ever saw, so it was a big deal. Needless to say, this series has a special meaning to me. And I don’t know why it took me five years to catch the fourth installment, but it did. And I guess now I see why, because it was nothing special.

The concept of The Mummy has been dragged out. It went from being this mysterious and exciting thing to “we know exactly what will happen and how it will happen” concept. And this movie was insanely predictable and not once wow:ed me. And it’s sad. Brendan Fraser did a good job as always and I really like him as an actor, but not even he could save this movie. Nor could Jet Li. I felt that this movie took the concept to ridiculous proportions and it was just “Really, they did that?” etc.

It had potential though, I am not going to lie. The story could’ve been great and followed an interesting path, but it just fell apart and it honestly felt like a b-movie production unlike the first Mummy movie which felt like an AAA-production and was groundbreaking at the time.

All in all, it’s a mediocre movie at best that I don’t think most people will enjoy.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Brendan returns for his fourth The Mummy movie, but it’s the weakest out of them all in my opinion.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

