GI Joe: Retaliation

The Joe’s are back with GI Joe: Retaliation and I was expecting a typical guy flick and that’s exactly what I got…. along with some dying satisfaction of the drawn out concept of heroes and villains.

The movie had some truly amazing action scenes and some funny jokes. It had great special effects and great actors. It was everything a movie is expected to be in these days, but for me, that isn’t enough anymore. The pacing was a little bit off honestly, and it was obvious at several moments in the movie. Which in my opinion isn’t that impressive as pacing is insanely important.

Add to that that I am a villain guy and the villain in this movie had a phenomenal plan that blew my mind and it really pisses me off to see how flawed the outcome at the end is. I mean, can we please get one villain that thinks logically before building their weapons? At least the movie did have one awesome moment of evil, which is more than any of the Marvel movies had so far combined.

All in all, for the vast majority of movie goers, this will be an entertaining flick. It was for me, but I want to see more balls from writers and give the villains a fair chance. Also I want to see the concept evolve into something new and deeper.

Rating: 3.5 out 5

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

