What I want from Battlefield 4

Battlefield 4 is the next major shooter that caught my interest. Running on the stunning Frostbite 3 engine it was given that I’d give it a peak. I mean, Battlefield 3 was beyond gorgeous and delivered some very fun gaming nights for me and my friends, albeit it was frustrating due to lack of basic features and poor balancing. But with Battlefield 4 I expect DICE to have matured and realized their mistakes. I expect it to be far more polished.

Needless to say, the expectations are high despite Battlefield 3 failed to live up to its potential. None of my friends are still playing it, although it’s been over two years since it was released so by today’s standards that’s quite common. But that could’ve changed if they balanced it and didn’t release an somewhat unfinished product.

Check out the 17-minute gameplay footage of the single player campaign of BF4.

Here are some of the things I’d like to see from day one in Battlefield 4:

  • Sea warfare: I want to be able to take fights to the water or perhaps under water. Something related to water either way. There’s too little water in shooters.
  • More freedom in the maps: There should be no “invisible walls” or “if you go here you die within 5 seconds unless you turn back” areas in BF4.
  • Dramatically improved group joining features and social features: Battlelog was shit. It needs to get better. And I should automatically join the same squad and team when I join as a group. This is ESSENTIAL.
  • Dramatically improved balance: Operation Métro Conquest Mode. Need I say more? I didn’t think so.
  • New weapons, vehicles, ranking systems, and classes.
  • Co-op campaign.
  • Better vehicle controls for keyboard users.
  • More gorgeous graphics than in the previous game.

Well, that’s all I could think of right now as basics. As always, I expect innovation and something that truly wows me in order for me to buy it. It needs to be better than what the competition offers, as in Call of Duty.

I foresee a great deal of fun with Battlefield 4, just as I had with Battlefield 3, but it was far, far from ideal.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

