Software sales lowest since 2000

Reports are in from the gaming world and they are indeed lackluster. Sales are the lowest they have been since 2000. But that’s good. I think it’s because people are tired of PS3/Xbox 360 and want a new generation.

It’s no surprise that the new consoles are coming out during this record low year. Normally a console cycle runs five years, this one has passed over seven years. They really milked it as much as possible and it’s good consumers declining interest has finally led to the release of the next generation to be this Christmas season.

I was already calling for a new generation to be launched in 2011, even in 2010 I had begun to lose my interest completely. And when my Xbox 360 died in 2011 of natural causes after years of servitude, I had zero interest to replace it. My PC has adequately covered my needs.

There’s something special every time a new gen begins, and I can’t wait to be a part of the new one.

20130618-120302.jpg
The winner of the previous generation by a mile. But it looks as if I won’t be supporting the next one.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

